Nominating Committee Recommendations
The Community Papers of Florida (CPF) Nominating Committee has recommended that Farris Robinson serve as president during the next two-year term.

The CPF general membership must approve the recommendations at the General Business Meeting that will be held at the conference.

Farris is the president of Hometown News, which publishes 15 publications on the East Coast of Florida from Daytona Beach to the Treasure Coast. The company distributes its 15 community newspapers to 200,000 homes weekly.

Farris moved to Florida in 1987 and worked for Ryder Distribution Resources assembling and delivering Xerox copiers. From there he went to work in the warehouse of the paper supplier Mac Papers and quickly became the warehouse manager. Farris said, "I decided that it was too hot to work in the warehouse and convinced the GM to give me a shot at inside sales. I quickly became the #1 inside sales rep and wanted a new challenge in outside sales."

At that time the general manager refused to put him in an outside territory so he went to work for the competition, Dillard Paper Company, now known as Xpedx. After a year he transferred to the Orlando office and was given the Volusia/Lake County areas.

One of his accounts was the Daytona Beach News Journal, and he was eventually offered a position with the News Journal as a retail/classified advertising account executive.

After the company went through a buyout, he decided to move on and accepted a position with Hometown News as a new business development rep in April of 2010. He then took over a territory. Later he was promoted to sales manager of the Volusia office and then to regional sales manager handling Volusia and North Brevard counties.

From there he was given the opportunity to be the senior vice president of sales and was later promoted to president.

Susan Griffin was nominated to serve as vice president. She is the publisher of OPC News LLC in Ponte Vedra Beach.

Justo Rey was nominated to serve another term as treasurer. Rey is the president of The Flyer.

Nominated to continue their service on the board were Tom Adams, publisher of the Forum Publishing Group in Deerfield Beach; Dan Autrey, publisher of Tampa Bay Newspapers; Scott Blonde, vice president of the Breeze Newspapers in Southwest Florida; and Charlie Delatorre, CEO of Tower Publications in Gainesville.

CPF Executive Director Dave Neuharth was nominated to continue serving as secretary as a non-voting board member.

Wendy Murray will serve a two-year term as past president.

Be sure to attend the Business Meeting Saturday at noon.


There are currently no comments on this article

Leave A Comment

Leave A Comment

© 2019 Community Papers of Florida Logos & trademarks on the site are property of their respective owners.
Opinions expressed in articles within this site are those of their owners and may not reflect the opinion of CPF.