2008 Kentucky Derby Reception
When Big Brown broke from the number 20 position in the Kentucky Derby he was off to a good start, moving over to the outside and running in the seventh position. When he headed around the final turn in the Kentucky Derby there was no doubt - he was in a class by himself and the winner of the 134th Derby.

When Lynn Krueger of TheFlyer.com in Tampa headed for the Community Papers of Florida conference in Orlando, she got off to a terrible start. A car accident resulted in $700 in damage plus the cost of a car rental.

But like Big Brown, she concluded the conference in a winning fashion. Her horse's "Win" ticket, earned by attending the day's sessions, was drawn for the first place prize of $1,000. Since she also listed Big Brown on her ticket as the winner, when the horse blew by the field it doubled her prize to $2,000. Congratulations, Lynn!

Winning the "Place" ticket for $750 was Elaine McEvoy of the Bradenton Shopping Guide. Also from Bradenton, Shannon Harriman won the "Show" prize of $500 and had her amount doubled to $1,000 by selecting Big Brown.

After the individual Win-Place-Show drawings were completed Saturday evening, all the remaining tickets were placed into one basket for some special additional drawings. Millie Bar of Manatee Shopping Guide won a one-week's stay at a luxury condo in Miami Beach donated by Carlos Guzman. CPF's newest member, Peter Webley of Caribbean Today in Miami, won a framed, limited-edition Kentucky Derby print, as did Rob Zarrilli of TheFlyer.com in Tampa.

Tickets from the Friday sessions were won by Ann Waite of Tower Publications in Gainesville, whose "Win" ticket earned her $1,000. The "Place" ticket was won by Lisa DelMonte of TheFlyer.com in Miami, who picked up $750; and Valerie Calabrese of the Florida Pennysaver won the "Show" ticket prize of $500.

In addition to all the cash and other prizes listed above, the Kentucky Derby "betting booth" took in $2,400 that was given back to 24 lucky winners who picked #20, Big Brown, in their blind draw.

Congratulations to all the lucky winners!

© 2019 Community Papers of Florida Logos & trademarks on the site are property of their respective owners.
Opinions expressed in articles within this site are those of their owners and may not reflect the opinion of CPF.