2008 Awards for Excellence Winners
The Florida Pennysaver led the way in the annual "Awards for Excellence" awards ceremony held at the Community Papers of Florida (CPF) conference in Orlando.

The Florida Pennysaver picked up 24 awards including 12 first place awards. LaPalma, published by the Florida Pennysaver, added six awards including a first place honor.

Breeze Newspapers in Southwest Florida was the Best of Show recipient. The three first-place Judge's Choice awards went to the Brandon News & Tribune, Fort Myers Beach Observer and TheFlyer.com. Each of these awards included a $500 prize for the member publication.

Hometown News picked up 23 awards, including three for first place. Tower Publications in Gainesville picked up 22 awards, including six first place honors. The Osceola Shopper/News Gazette grabbed 22 awards, including two first place honors. Breeze Newspapers took home 18 awards including six first place honors. The Forum Publishing Group earned 13 awards, including a first place honor.

A total of 219 plaques were presented at the conference.

Both editorial and composition personnel received cash awards for their entries. Over $10,000 was awarded to the persons who won prizes.

© 2019 Community Papers of Florida Logos & trademarks on the site are property of their respective owners.
Opinions expressed in articles within this site are those of their owners and may not reflect the opinion of CPF.